Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
abigailnfl
27 octobre 2012

Iconic NFL Quarterbacks In Their Second Acts

Matt DiCarlo traveled across the country to see Peyton Manning’s first game against the New England Patriots as a member of the Denver Broncos. Tailgating outside Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass.

nfl nike jerseys


last Sunday, DiCarlo stood out in a bright orange Broncos jersey. “In my mind, he’ll always be an Indianapolis Colt, but we’re really excited just to bring him in and hopefully get us to another Super Bowl,” the Littleton, Colo. resident said. “Yeah, in my mind he’s always a Colt.” Which might explain why DiCarlo and another Broncos fan, Chris Kusick, were wearing jerseys bearing the name and number of another Denver quarterback. John Elway will always be a Bronco even if he leaves his current job in the team’s front office. “I actually became a Bronco fan Cheap Nike NFL Jerseys because of John Elway, followed the team, and [I'm] still a huge fan,” the Bridgeport, Conn. resident said. “I probably would have been crushed if he had [gone] and played somewhere else.” Baltimore Colts legend Johnny Unitas ended his career in 1973 with the San Diego Chargers. (AP) Baltimore Colts legend Johnny Unitas ended his career in 1973 with the San Diego Chargers. (AP) Fans enjoy the luxury of toggling between very long and very short memories whenever it’s convenient. But for Peyton Manning Cheap Jerseys the change is more complicated. After 14 years, the Colts chose Andrew Luck’s bright future over the 36-year-old Manning’s brilliant past. “I don’t have anything else to compare it to, but it’s not easy. It is a transition and it’s one that you continue to go through,” Manning said when asked about change after Denver’s loss to New England. “It’s the first time it’s ever happened [to me] and I’m kind of going through it, so I could probably give you a better answer later on as more time goes by. But it’s definitely different, no question about it.” Patriots fan Mike Lucie says if Tom Brady was in Manning’s cleats, he’d wish him well. “To me it’s not just shutting a light switch off and saying all of a sudden, ‘Oh, he’s playing for another team. I can’t like Brady.’ You can still root for the individual,” Lucie said. “I would still root for the team. So, if Brady came back and played against the Patriots, I’d still have to root for the Patriots. I wouldn’t think anything less of him if he went to another team. It is a business.” As for Brady himself, switching teams is a scenario he’d rather not consider. “Honestly, I haven’t thought about it. Really, I haven’t had the situation,” said the 35-year-old quarterback. “Hopefully it never happens.” San Francisco 49ers great Joe Montana closed out his career in Kansas City. After Montana arrived in 1993, he guided the Chiefs to the AFC championship game. Jeffrey Flanagan is a columnist for Fox Sports Kansas City and the author of A Sea of Red

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Archives
Publicité